Home Inmate Roster Most Wanted Sex Offenders Press Releases Crime Map Warrants Contact Us
Sign Up for Alerts
YouTube Channel
View Mobile Site
Community Events Blog
Calendar Laura's Law FAQ History of the Sheriff Cold Cases Employment Deadbeats
History of the Sheriff's Office - Click photo for more information

Sheriff Gerald Robinson
Term: 2007-Present



Pictured Above: Gerald Robinson


After defeating his opponent in the November 2006 General Election, Sheriff Gerald Robinson was elected the first African American and 31st Sheriff of Jefferson County.  He was sworn in as Sheriff on January 1, 2007.  Sheriff Robinson began his career in 1988 as a Deputy Jailer with the Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office (JCSO). In 1992, Sheriff Robinson was transferred to the Uniformed Patrol Division, where his stellar work performance resulted in a collateral duty assignment as a Criminal Investigator. While assigned to the Criminal Investigation Division (CID), Sheriff Robinson quickly rose to the rank of Lieutenant before being promoted yet again to the rank of Captain and transferred back to the Uniformed Patrol Division to serve as the Division Commander. 

In 2003, Sheriff Robinson was asked to serve as the Division Commander for the Criminal Investigation Division and he accepted the challenge. He then served as Division Commander for the Criminal Investigation Division for just over a year before being appointed as the Under Sheriff/Chief Deputy in 2004 by then Sheriff Boe Fontaine.  Prior to his law enforcement career, Sheriff Robinson served his country in the United States Army from 1981 – 1994, during which time he was promoted to the rank of Sergeant 1st Class and served in the Persian Gulf War.

Sheriff Robinson has a deep commitment to Community Policing, has served as a Cultural Diversity Instructor, and fosters a "participatory management" philosophy in which all employees are given a voice in the operation of the Sheriff's Office.  Additionally, he supports continued modernization of all operations including support for the adoption of technology advances and acquiring new equipment to better serve both personnel and the public. Sheriff Robinson values community outreach, training and professionalism.

Sheriff Robinson is responsible for implementing standard operating procedures across the organization to include:

  • Re-allocated resources;
  • Redefined professional standards;
  • Built regional partnerships;
  • Advocated against domestic violence;
  • Increased annual revenue through the implementation of a host of programs;
  • Held deadbeat dads accountable;
  • Fought the drug epidemic;
  • Expanded patrols throughout the county; 

A Humphrey native, Sheriff Robinson graduated from Humphrey High School. Sheriff Robinson earned a Bachelor's of Science Degree in Business Administration from the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff.  He is a 2002 graduate of the FBI National Academy. He is also a graduate of Leadership Pine Bluff, the Arkansas Law Enforcement Training Academy and School of Law Enforcement Supervision as well as Arkansas Leader.

Sheriff Robinson is a member of First Missionary Baptist Church, the NAACP, Arkansas Sheriff’s Association, National Sheriff’s Association, Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity Inc. and Jefferson County Democrats.


He has been recognized by many for his work in the field of public service to include the House of Representatives of the Eighty-second General Assembly of the State of Arkansas and being Clarence A. Jenkins Humanitarian Award for outstanding service rendered to the City of Pine Bluff, Jefferson County, and State of Arkansas. Sheriff Robinson believes that the Office of the Sheriff is a leader in providing excellent law enforcement services to a diverse community. 


Sheriff Gerald Robinson
Term: 2007-Present

Sheriff Edward Lewis "Boe" Fontaine
Term: 1999-2006

Sheriff William C. "Dub" Brassell
Term: 1977-1998

Sheriff Emmett F. "Buck" Oliger
Term: 1967-1976

Sheriff Harold Norton II
Term: 1955-1966

Sheriff Allen Nixon
Term: 1951-1954

Sheriff Garland Brewster Sr.
Term: 1927-1950

Sheriff S.F. Vaulx
Term: 1923-1926

Sheriff C.M. Nichol
Term: 1919-1923

Sheriff R.H. Williams
Term: 1914-1919

Sheriff Edgar Brewster
Term: 1910-1914

Sheriff C.M. Philpot
Term: 1906-1910

Sheriff James Gould
Term: 1902-1906

Sheriff H.A. McCoy
Term: 1898-1902

Sheriff C.H. Triplett
Term: 1894-1898

Sheriff A.G. Thompson
Term: 1892-1894

Sheriff Frank Silverman
Term: 1888-1892

Sheriff G.W. Prigmore
Term: 1886-1888

Sheriff J.M. Clayton
Term: 1876-1886

Sheriff J.F. Vaughan
Term: 1868-1876

Sheriff C.M. Bagg
Term: 1864-1868

Sheriff A.F. Kendall
Term: 1860-1864

Sheriff M.E. Hudson
Term: 1858-1860

Sheriff J.G. White
Term: 1856-1858

Sheriff P.F. Morton
Term: 1852-1856

Sheriff J.J. Hammett
Term: 1840-1852

Sheriff S. Dardenne
Term: 1838-1840

Sheriff Samuel Mitchell "Sam" Taylor
Term: 1836-1838

Sheriff S. Dardenne
Term: 1835-1836

Sheriff William Kinkead
Term: 1832-1835

Sheriff Creed Taylor
Term: 1830-1832
Emergency - Dial 911, Phone 870-541-5351 (24 Hours) Arkansas Sheriffs' Association | Arkansas State Police | Family Watch Dog | VINELink

Phone: 870-541-5351 (24 hours) • Email • P.O. Box 7837 • 410 E. 2nd Avenue • Pine Bluff, AR 71601 • Map
Administrative Office Hours: M-F 8am-5pm